Mr. Ukulele

I am a people person and I especially love engaging with fellow educators. This is just one more reason why Twitter rocks. #PLNImage

While enjoying day six of my Spring Break, a member of my PLN posted the USTREAM link to his classroom. Even though it was #napchat time, I opted to observe the next half hour or so of wonderfully riveting 6th grade interaction.

I could have watched all day long.

Initially, the classroom was silent except for the strumming of what I thought was a guitar but turned out to be a ukulele being played by an unseen teacher. In walked a student who addressed Mr. Ukulele with a big hello. Their conversation was easy and natural. As he strummed along, Mr. Ukulele asked about family and school. The student replied all was well and then happily continued back to his class.

In a matter of minutes the bell rang and the students for the next class came in excited about the day’s lesson. As Mr. Ukulele greeted the class, the 6th graders settled in for a quick video which set the tone for the day and is also featured on the class blog.

I observed seamless activities, respectful interaction, and engaged learning. The best part is the culture of respect and kindness was evident even before the students arrived.

I wouldn’t expect anything less from any teacher who plays the ukulele at school.

Thank you, Mr. Ukulele.

Mr. Ukulele is actually @wmchamerlain on Twitter and can be found at http://mrcsclassblog.blogspot.com/.

Tags:

About barbarawmadden

I began teaching in 1981, but after a few years decided staying home with my children was what was best for my family. After almost 20 years raising four children, I returned to the classroom in 2005.

One response to “Mr. Ukulele”

  1. debbiefuco says :

    Nice, descriptive post about a truly caring educator!

    “I observed seamless activities, respectful interaction, and engaged learning. The best part is the culture of respect and kindness was evident even before the students arrived.”

    Thanks to you for sharing and to Mr. Ukulele for being who he is!

Leave a Reply

