Smashed Cellphone Prank

 

When April 1 falls on a school day it can be a nightmare for teachers. BUT what if you as a teacher had a really great prank of your own? Here’s mine. Enjoy and feel free to use as you see fit.

A few years ago when cellphones were relatively new at school, my classroom neighbor and I conspired to grab the attention of any student who dared bring a cellphone to our classrooms.

The prank involved a hammer and a zip-lock storage bag containing an old cellphone.

My colleague had the hammer.  I had the bag.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On April Fool’s Day, I took the bagged cellphone and interrupted my teaching colleague to ask if she had a hammer. Then, with great flourish, I proceeded to smash the bagged cellphone in front of her class while yelling through clenched teeth, “I have had it with these cellphones at school!”

Most students sat in stunned silence as the phone shattered into dozens of pieces inside the bag.

As I exited stage left, I overheard one student pronounce, “She can’t do that.”

And another reply, “Well, she just did.”

So, what clever pranks have you witnessed or been a part of? Feel free to post your thoughts!

Tags: , ,

About barbarawmadden

I began teaching in 1981, but after a few years decided staying home with my children was what was best for my family. After almost 20 years raising four children, I returned to the classroom in 2005.

Leave a Reply

