Please Tweet with me

When my day began this morning, I had no idea before it ended I would be emailing back and forth with a highly respected name in education who is not on Twitter as well as talking by phone with two other highly respected educators who happen to be members of my PLN and vice versa.

Pretty cool, huh?

It all began with a tweet to the effect of how cool it would be if the DuFours and Guskeys and more in their “league” were on Twitter.

My response was to suggest an invitation asking them to join us for a Twitter chat at #edchat.

So, I chose a name, googled, found the professional email address and then emailed an invitation to #edchat.

“Thank you, but, no, thank you” summed up the reply.

Of course, not one to take no for an answer, I responded with my thoughts on how talking about the benefits of Twitter PD is like teaching someone to swim without getting wet. It is just best to jump in.

The next email gave me hope.

I am not giving up.

Stay tuned…

thinking-man

I think I should open a Twitter account.

What do you think is the best approach to encourage participation in a Twitter chat?

About barbarawmadden

I began teaching in 1981, but after a few years decided staying home with my children was what was best for my family. After almost 20 years raising four children, I returned to the classroom in 2005.

Leave a Reply

