I learned to annotate text in church

Nowadays, for the most part, we must teach students how to annotate text.

I puzzled over where I “learned.” And then it hit me. Church.

Years ago as a new believer, I would take notes. I wrote in my notebook and Bible, underlining and making notes in the margin–annotating.

I never used the fancy word for my Sunday note-taking. Never really thought about it. I just did it. I couldn’t help myself. I was hungry for the knowledge being imparted.

Why aren’t more of our students knowledge-hungry enough to annotate without being taught explicitly?

Just a thought.

Tags: ,

About barbarawmadden

I began teaching in 1981, but after a few years decided staying home with my children was what was best for my family. After almost 20 years raising four children, I returned to the classroom in 2005.

One response to “I learned to annotate text in church”

  1. Nelda LeCroy says :

    Interesting. That is probably where I learned, too. I’ve never given it much thought:-)

Leave a Reply

