CFAs: CREATIVE Formative Assessments

#sunchat is Sunday mornings at 8CST. This week, we will be discussing Creative Formative Assessments. This is one example of how I use quick quizzes for assessing student learning.

Many years ago during a graduate course, our instructor suggested allowing students to grade their own quizzes giving partial credit for corrections. I liked the idea and have used it often since.

Recently, I decided to add a little twist by requiring students to explain the mistake and correction by writing out the reasoning behind the correction. In other words, they reflect on their mistakes. With reflected upon mistakes corrected, I allow students to earn full credit for these short quizzes.

I am looking forward to see how this pays off in the long run.

My students seem to appreciate the opportunity to grow and learn.

Tags:

About barbarawmadden

I began teaching in 1981, but after a few years decided staying home with my children was what was best for my family. After almost 20 years raising four children, I returned to the classroom in 2005.

Leave a Reply

