Why I support Standards Based Grading

As a 17-year-old college freshman and first in my family to attend a four-year institution, I couldn’t have been any greener if I had tried. Physics was overwhelming. I preferred mathematics theory to the practical and found the transition daunting. With a D average going into finals week, I studied for days on end hoping for a B on the exam and maybe a C in the class. I ACED THE EXAM WITH AN A PLUS. When I received my grade card in the mail, my D had somehow become an A.

Being the forever-nerd I was and am to this day, I went to my physics professor to suggest he had miscalculated my final grade. In my mind an A-plus averaged with a D was no more than a C-plus or maybe B-minus. The professor assured me my grade was accurate by saying, “Anyone who can score an A on my exam deserves an A in my class.”

This story resonates with my parents and students. It has been a great motivator resulting in a 99% success rate with my geometry students over the past four years. I refuse to fail any student who genuinely wants to learn.

Tags:

About barbarawmadden

I began teaching in 1981, but after a few years decided staying home with my children was what was best for my family. After almost 20 years raising four children, I returned to the classroom in 2005.

One response to “Why I support Standards Based Grading”

  1. Teresa Ryan says :

    Great story Barbara. Thanks for sharing it. Physics was the bane of my college existence too. I had to repeat it.

Leave a Reply

