My 200th Post – On Literacy Part 3

Granted, and...

Hard to believe I have written 200 posts – the equivalent of 2 books, for no pay, and with surprisingly little pain! Thanks for reading and commenting: the thoughtful back and forth in the comments makes this all worthwhile.

[Oops: I updated the post to provide the link to the graphics site.]

As part of my continuing writing on literacy, I offer a short post – some graphics with a few questions.

The graph below comes from a site that specializes in education data. Here we see a critical data set in the argument over schools and poverty – New York City 3rd grade scores by school vs. SES levels:

3rd grade reading vs. poverty - New York - 2013

The graph is actually interactive: by mousing over a dot you can see the name of each school. Here are a few of the important outliers to the somewhat general trend (the red dots equal charter schools):

Screen Shot 2015-03-20 at 8.48.18 AMScreen Shot 2015-03-20 at 8.48.28 AMScreen Shot 2015-03-20 at 8.48.40 AM

(You can see…

View original post 199 more words

About barbarawmadden

I began teaching in 1981, but after a few years decided staying home with my children was what was best for my family. After almost 20 years raising four children, I returned to the classroom in 2005.

Leave a Reply

